Be informed. Be challenged. Be inspired.

Dante’s ‘Inferno’

Dante’s Inferno is a 14th century literary classic. In it, Dante tours the nine levels of hell. The deeper you get, the worse the sin and the worse the punishment.

Italy Verona Dante Alighieri

A statue of Dante Alighieri in Verona, Italy. PICTURE: Marcus Ganahl/Unsplash

The early levels are for simply falling for temptation – lust, glutton, greed. Hell for the weak-willed.

Then you enter into willful disobedience – violence, fraud, heresy.

But the deepest level of hell, the worst of the worst in Dante’s view, was reserved for the betrayer. The one who knows you, says they love you, and then betrays you.  

You can understand an enemy hurting you, but a friend, a husband, a wife? Psychologists tell you – it’s hard to recover from betrayal. 

Jesus was betrayed by Judas, and abandoned by His friends. Jesus knew it was coming, yet He went to the cross anyway – for you.

Betrayal – and redemption.

Paul Clark’s musings can be heard on radio across Australia and at



sight plus logo

Sight+ is a new benefits program we’ve launched to reward people who have supported us with annual donations of $26 or more. To find out more about Sight+ and how you can support the work of Sight, head to our Sight+ page.



We’re interested to find out more about you, our readers, as we improve and expand our coverage and so we’re asking all of our readers to take this survey (it’ll only take a couple of minutes).

To take part in the survey, simply follow this link…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.